Shelter Him

Hello, dearest friends, I am so glad you are here…

My words this evening will be few (aren’t you some lucky sons & daughters of sumthin’!)…

This past Sunday, my husband Mountain Man, lost a very dear friend of his unexpectedly…

Mark was only 40 years old and, needless to say, it is very, very sad. They grew up together and later, when Mark and 4 of his closest pals started a garage band called “Shelter”, Mountain Man and myself were huge fans. They played the usual hot spots around town in the mid to late nineties and beyond- typically local bars on the campus of the University of Cincinnati, a funky & hip music venue called Bogarts, a laundromat/ bar/ music scene called Sudsy Malones, The Hole In The Wall on the campus of Miami Oxford, and up in Dayton as well…

Shelter, which later on became known as ‘Shelly’,  was reminiscent of any early U2, and I loved every bit of their music. I still do. Good memories were made when these guys were involved in the scheme and to say it is a terrible loss for so many is an understatement…

He is being laid to rest tomorrow, and we visited with family & friends this evening and shared our shock,our sorrow, our disbelief…

I don’t have much more to say as this is so new, but I will leave with you a link to a beautiful memorial written by a friend of his…

Give huge hugs to those that are closest to your hearts, and don’t take one single moment for granted..

Much love to you all!

Eulogy For The Gentle Soul

 

Sleep well, my friend, and Godspeed.

Sleep well, my friend, and Godspeed.

 

22 thoughts on “Shelter Him

  1. Ginger,
    Touching eulogy. And my sincerest sympathies to you, your husband, Mark’s family and all of your loved ones.
    Eric

    • Thank you, kind sir, I really appreciate that!
      And, if I may say so, I’ve been praying for your family bc I hate what you’re going through right now! So sorry you are being attacked maliciously- it’s simply hateful. Keep your chin up- you’ll win, I know it!!

  2. Dear Ginger, Your Empressness,
    Willow nominated me for the WordPress Family Award, which means I can nominate 10 other bloggers who I feel are part of my WordPress Family too…. So, I picked you as one of my group, though I have to admit I needed more than 10 to do justice to all the good ffolkes here on WP…. :-D Anywho, I think you’re fab, and now all of WP knows it, too!….

    If you wish to pay the award forward, feel free, but there is no pressure to do so…. just accept my love, and have a good day… but, the rules for the award are on my blog, here: http://gigoid.me/2013/04/07/word-is-wordpress-rocks/ , or at the original creator’s site, here:  http://prayingforoneday.wordpress.com/

    Take care, my friend, and Blessed Be….

    gigoid, aka Ned, and glad to be your friend….

What?

